» » Alaska Eviction Notice Forms | Process and Laws

Alaska Eviction Notice Forms | Process and Laws

Create a high quality document online now!

The Alaska eviction notices are used by landlords to begin the process of removing a tenant from the premises of a property for a lease violation. The landlord may use Form CIV-720 as a guide. After the a violation has occurred the owner of the property must identify the issue and write the tenant through a form known as the ‘Notice to Quit’. If the issue is curable, such as with a late rent payment or other issue that can be remediated the lessee will have a suggested time-frame to cure the problem. If the issue is incurable, such as damage or illegal activities on the premises, the tenant will be forced to leave by the end of the time period suggested.

LawsRule 85 (Forcible Entry and Detainer)

Table of Contents

Notice to Quit

24-Hour Notice to Quit (Tenant Deliberately Inflicted Substantial Damage to the Premises) – If the tenant has purposely and maliciously caused sufficient damage to the premises the landlord may serve an action requesting the lessee to leave the property within twenty-four (24) hours.

5-Day Notice to Quit (Illegal Activity) – If the tenant has been accused or caught conducting illegal activities on the property they shall have five (5) days to remove themselves and their possessions from the property.

7-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Payment of Rent) – If the lessee does not pay rent on the date stated in the lease agreement the lessor has the right to serve this notice.

10-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Compliance) – If the lessee has broken a part of the lease that does not have to do with the non-payment of rent the landlord must provide ten (10) days to cure the issue. If the violation has not been cured the lessee will be forced to move-out at the end of the period.

30-Day Notice to Quit (Month-to-Month Tenancy) – A tenancy-at-will and either the landlord or tenant wish to cancel then this form may be completed to terminate the lease by providing at least thirty (30) day notice.

When is Rent Late

According to  § 34.03.020(c) rent is due at the time and place as agreed upon by the parties. This agreement usually refers to the rental contract signed by the landlord and tenant.

Alaska Eviction Process

Step 1 – The landlord must begin the process by deciding which notice to quit best fits their situation;

Step 2 – After serving the tenant with the appropriate form and they remain on the property,in violation of the notice, the landlord must file the Compliant (Form CIV-730) (Attach a copy of the Notice to Quit).

If the amount of damage is under $100,000 the case must be filed in a District Court, if over $100,000 it must be filed in a Superior Court.

The following must also be filed:

A fee for the amount of $125 must be attached if filing in a District Court and $200 if in the Superior.

Step 3 – A copy of the filed Complaint and Summons must be sent to the Defendant. The Service Instructions must be used to guide the process server (See State Approved List). After the Defendant has been served they will file a form called the Returns of Service with you and the court.

Step 4 – The Defendant will have a maximum of twenty (20) days to file an Answer (CIV-735) with the court.

Step 5 – Both parties should attend the hearing and the Judge will only rule on whether the landlord is entitled to possession of the property and not if they are granted damages. After the hearing is complete and the landlord would like to get damages the court will typically automatically set an additional trial hearing. If not, the petitioner will have to file CIV-200 (Memorandum to Set Civil Case For Trial).

How to Write (Notice to Quit)

1 – Tenant’s/Landlord’s Name and Property Address

The name of who this notice is being given to along with the address of the property should be entered into the header of the notice.

2 – Lease Agreement Date

The date of the lease signature date should be entered as to recognize which agreement this notice is referring to.

3 – Non-Payment of Rent

If the notice is being given by the landlord to the tenant due to the non-payment of rent then the first (1st) checkbox should be marked. This gives the tenant a total of seven (7) days to pay all that is due (should be entered) along with recognizing the dates for which rent is late.

4 – Material Violation

If the notice is being given to the tenant due to a noncompliance in the lease then the following box should be checked in accordance to the tenant’s actions:

  • Non-Compliance with the Lease – This gives the tenant ten (10) days to fix the issue and the exact violation that was conducted should be entered.
  • Illegal Act – If an illegal act was conducted by the tenant then there is no right to cure and the tenant has a total of five (5) days to remove themselves from the property.
  • Damage to the Premises – If the tenant has conducted significant damage to the premises and a total of twenty-four (24) hours is given to the tenant to vacate.

5 – Lease Termination (Month to Month Tenancy)

If either the tenant or the landlord are submitting this form due to their desire to end a monthly tenancy relationship then either one (1) of the two (2) boxes should be checked depending on the party that is requesting to quit. Either the landlord or tenant must give at least thirty (30) days notice to the other party.

6 – Certificate of Service and Signature

The landlord or tenant, whomever is sending the notice, must authorize the notice and check the box as to how they will be sending the form. Most States require that the form is hand delivered, posted on the property, or sent through the certified mail with return receipt (the receipt will be needed as proof the tenant received the document).


ABOUT SSL CERTIFICATES